Hall of Fame

The Most Distinguished Individuals in Florida Public Transportation

This is the highest honor that our association can bestow.  In our 40+ year history, the Board and members of the Florida Public Transportation Association have only chosen a select few individuals to be honored with induction to our Hall of Fame.

The people listed below have made a significant and lasting impact in advancing public transportation in Florida and we are very proud that each has chosen to work alongside the FPTA.

2017 – Joel Volinski

Joel Volinski worked as the Director of Broward County Transit from 1983 to 1993, and then as the Director of the National Center for Transit Research at USF from 1994 to his retirement in 2017.  During his 35 years in the transit industry, Joel made a number of...

read more

2016 – Jay Goodwill

Jay Goodwill has dedicated his professional life to improving public transit in Florida.  Following three years as the Executive Director of the Sarasota/Manatee Metropolitan Planning Organization, Jay was appointed as the Executive Director of the Sarasota County...

read more

2015 – Lorraine Szyms

For 33 years, Lorraine Szyms served at high levels of various transit systems in both coasts of south Florida. She was the state’s first female Transit Director, serving in that capacity for Lee County Transit from 1982 to 1985 and helped pave the way for the many...

read more

2014 – Jo Ann Hutchinson

Jo Ann Hutchinson has had over 40 years of extensive experience at the national and state levels in community and public transportation services. She has served at the national and regional levels as one of 10 United We Ride Ambassadors where she provided assistance...

read more

2013 – Perry Maull

Perry Maull contributed to the advancement of public transportation in more Florida communities than any other transit manager in the history of the state. After graduating from Indiana University as a participant in the famous “George Smerk Transit Management...

read more

2012 – Ben Watts

In 2012, Mr. Ben Watts was inducted into the FPTA Hall of Fame.  Mr. Watts, a Florida native, is a graduate of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point and served for five years in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers with tours in Germany and South Korea.  In 1974, he...

read more

2011 – Wes Watson

Wes Watson is the “face” of public transportation in the State of Florida.  Wes served as the first and only Executive Director of the Florida Public Transportation Association for 30 years, leading the Florida Public Transportation Association into the successful...

read more

2010 – Senator Jack D. Gordon

Senator Jack Gordon faithfully and enthusiastically served the Florida Senate for six terms from 1972 to 1992 where he chaired several committees. including Appropriations, Finance and Taxation, Ways and Means, Education, Health and Rehabilitative Services, and...

read more