FPTA Award Winners

The 2023 FPTA Awards were presented on Wednesday, October 11, 2023 at the FPTA Annual Conference in Orlando.

Marketing Awards

View winners by entry category

Organizational Awards

These awards honor systems who have demonstrated innovative or creative concepts and effective problem-solving techniques for the public transportation industry, as well as demonstrated achievement in efficiency and effectiveness.

Outstanding System of the Year – Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority (PSTA)

Innovation and Creativity Award – City of Key West

Bus Safety & Security Excellence

This award recognizes bus transportation systems that have implemented programs or projects that have achieved documented success in addressing specific safety program areas.

Tier 1, Gold Award – Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA)

Tier 2, Gold Award – MV Transportation, Gainesville RTS Paratransit Contractor

Tier 3, Gold Award – City of Ocala/SunTran

Bus Technician of the Year

This award recognizes Florida’s best transit bus technicians.

1st Place
Davis Hammond, StarMetro

2nd Place
Derrick N. Brown, PSTA

3rd Place
Henry (Hank) Rodgers, Gainesville RTS

Paratransit Technician of the Year

This award recognizes Florida’s best paratransit bus technicians.

1st Place
Michael Joseph Erdman, VOTRAN

2nd Place
Sherman Polydore, JTA

3rd Place
Jeffrey Robinson, StarMetro

Operator of the Year

This award recognizes an outstanding operator whose service has enriched and enhanced public transportation in their community.

1st Place
Marcus Kincade, PSTA

2nd Place
Anthony Howard, Miami-Dade Transit

3rd Place
Lorenza Ellison, StarMetro

Share This: